Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Visuals, audio, animation. Blended, not stirred. If LiveCode is part of your rich media production toolbox, this is the forum for you.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
kroka
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Post by kroka » Tue May 05, 2015 10:19 am

Hi there!

I am developing a language learning program including a speech lab where you can record your own voice.

When I switched over to LC 7, I found that the simple recording of a wave file in Windows is not working any more. Can anybody confirm that?

I made a simple test app including only a stack and a button with the following script. (It is supposed to record the mic as long as the button is being pressed):

Code: Select all

on mousedown
   set the dontUseQT to false
   set the recordFormat to "wave"
   set the recordCompression to "raw "
   set the recordSampleSize to 16
   set the recordChannels to 1 
   set the recordRate to 44.1
   set the defaultFolder to specialFolderPath("Temporary")
   record sound file "test.wav"
end mousedown

on mouseup
   stop recording
end mouseup
While this script is working as expected in LiveCode 6.5.2 it is not producing a wav-file in LC 7.0.4
It writes a tmp-file that is growing in size, that means it is actually recording, but the tmp-file disappears after the recording and no WAV or whatsoever turns up.

Does anybody know a workaround?
Happy for any answer - my deadline is soon, and this is a major problem...

Kroka
Last edited by kroka on Tue May 05, 2015 1:30 pm, edited 6 times in total.
"irgendwas is immer"

kroka
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Post by kroka » Tue May 05, 2015 11:24 am

(I changed the code above... still not working on LiveCode 7, always creating a tmp-file that disappears on stop, but no WAV)
Last edited by kroka on Tue May 05, 2015 1:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"irgendwas is immer"

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 858
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Post by dave.kilroy » Tue May 05, 2015 12:44 pm

Hi Kroda

I believe 'record sound' makes use of QuickTime and later versions of LiveCode have it turned off by default. If you check out dontusequicktime in the dictionary and set it to false somewhere like in a preopenstack handler it should (I think) give your app permission to use an installed copy of Quicktime on your windows machine - if you have it installed.

Let us know how you get on

Kind regards

Dave
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

kroka
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Post by kroka » Tue May 05, 2015 12:57 pm

Hi Dave,

thanks for your reply. I also had these thoughts and I tried it: No success. Problem remains in LC7. (I changed the code above accordingly).

I have QuickTime installed, and setting dontUseQT to false makes no difference.

(As far as I know, Quicktime is only disabled on the Mac version by default.)

Could anybody try the example and tell me if it works somewhere on LC 7 ? Would be very helpful!

Thank you

Kroka
"irgendwas is immer"

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 858
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Post by dave.kilroy » Tue May 05, 2015 1:15 pm

Hi Kroka - try setting the recordCompression to "raw " -- note the trailing space!

(from http://revolution.byu.edu/audio/audioIntro.php)
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

kroka
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Post by kroka » Tue May 05, 2015 1:19 pm

Hi Dave,

thanks again! And so sorry ... still not working.

It's working fine with all kinds of settings in Livecode 6.5 - but not in LiveCode 7.

Hauke
"irgendwas is immer"

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 858
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Post by dave.kilroy » Tue May 05, 2015 1:52 pm

Hauke I'm stumped - unless someone else chimes in you should report a bug at quality.livecode.com
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

kroka
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Post by kroka » Tue May 05, 2015 2:07 pm

Yeah, I think you are right. This seems to be a bug - not good for me, though. I reported it. Let's see what the guys there make out of it.

Thanks

Kroka
"irgendwas is immer"

kroka
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Audio Recording Windows LC 7 not working?

Post by kroka » Tue May 05, 2015 3:13 pm

Bug is confirmed! If anybody has an idea for an alternative way to do a recording in LiveCode 7 (until the bug is fixed), I'd be very grateful!

Thanks

Kroka
"irgendwas is immer"

Post Reply

Return to “Multimedia”